PVM Faculty Honored at Virtual 2020 Faculty Awards Convocation

Friday, September 11, 2020

Make a Gift
Support the College

Purdue University hosted a virtual Faculty Awards Convocation this year to honor faculty who received awards for teaching, research and scholarship, engagement, and leadership.  Several Purdue Veterinary Medicine faculty members were among those recognized as Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Peter Hollenbeck recited this year’s role of honor in a series of videos. 

“In a normal year, I’d be standing at the podium at the Faculty Awards Convocation, which is a rather joyous occasion to hold up all sorts of awards and excellence amongst our faculty,” Dr. Hollenbeck said.  “But this is not a normal year. We had to cancel the Faculty Awards Convocation.  Nonetheless, we want to hold-up the role of honor this year by reciting it and saving it for posterity.”

Purdue Veterinary Medicine faculty members recognized include:

Dr. Maggie O’Haire, associate professor of human-animal interaction in the Department of Comparative Pathobiology

Dr. O’Haire is one of six recipients of the Clifford B. Kinley Trust Award. The Clifford B. Kinley Trust was established in 1978 to fund research relating to human welfare and was activated in 1991 upon Mrs. Kinley’s passing. The competition is exclusive to the West Lafayette campus, and limited to faculty (tenure track/tenured, research, clinical) principal investigators.

Dr. Sulma Mohammed, professor of cancer biology in the Department of Comparative Pathobiology

Dr. Mohammed is one of two recipients of the Faculty Engagement Fellow Award, which is awarded to a full professor whose work has led to a strong record in the scholarship of engagement.

Dr. Jennifer Koziol, clinical assistant professor of theriogenology/ production medicine in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences

Dr. Koziol is one of eight Scholarship of Engagement Fellows  The purpose of the program is to foster the development of the scholarship of engagement for faculty throughout the Purdue system in support of the promotion and/or tenure process.

Dr. Tiffany Lyle, assistant professor of veterinary anatomic pathology in the Department of Comparative Pathobiology, and director of the Histology Research Laboratory

Dr. Lyle is one of 14 Purdue Insights Forum Fellows. The Faculty Insights Forum involves bimonthly sessions that address the “nuts and bolts” of leadership including diversity and inclusion, transparency, building consensus, recognition and appreciation, and mentoring faculty and staff. Each participant is paired with an experienced administrator at Purdue who matches her/his career goals. Participants and mentors meet four times per year to discuss the participant’s goals and personal progress toward the program outcomes. The program is intended to increase the pool of potential leaders at Purdue.

Congratulations to each of these Purdue Veterinary Medicine faculty members!  Click here to view a complete listing of the award recipients honored as part of the virtual Faculty Awards Convocation, and to access links to videos of Dr. Peter Hollenbeck announcing the award recipients.

Writer(s): Purdue News Service and Kevin Doerr | pvmnews@purdue.edu

Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, 625 Harrison Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907, 765-494-7607

© 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by PVM Web Communications

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact PVM Web Communications at vetwebteam@purdue.edu.