The Society of Phi Zeta

Phi Zeta Omicron Chapter

The Honor Society of Veterinary Medicine - OMICRON Chapter

Our Chapter, established in 1962, participates in the overall mission of the Phi Zeta Society to recognize and promote high level scholarship and research. Every year our chapter organizes a research day during which clinical and basic research findings are presented by our faculty, resident, postdoctoral, and student community. During that day invited outstanding lectures are also presented on topics relevant to animal and human health. During the day a number of prizes are bestowed for meritorious research accomplishments.

Join us for the annual Phi Zeta Research Day

The annual Phi Zeta Research Day is to be held at Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine on April 11, 2016.

Featured speakers for Phi Zeta Research Day include: 

  • Dr. James Fox, Professor of Biological Engineering, Director of the Division of Comparative Medicine, Massachusetts Institue of Technology, Adjunct Professor at Tufts University School of Veterinary Medicine and the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Dr. William Hueston, Professor,University of Minnesota
  • Dr. Kurt Matushek, Editor-in-Chief and Director of the Publications Division at the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)

 Chapter Information

Omicron Chapter Officers

  • Wendy Townsend, President
    Basic Medical Sciences 
  • Christina Wilson, Vice President
    Veterinary Clinical Sciences 
  • Roman Pogranichniy, Secretary
    Comparative Pathbiology
  • Jean Stiles, Treasurer
    Veterinary Clinical Sciences
  • Susan Mendrysa, Past President
    Comparative Pathobiology
  • Ramesh VemulapalliFaculty Representative
    Comparative Pathobiology
  • Laurie JaegerFaculty Representative
    Basic Medical Sciences 
  • Catharine Scott-MoncriefFaculty Representative
    Veterinary Clinical Sciences
  • Tyler Pear, Grad Student Representative
  • Michelle Hanenburg, DVM Student Representative

To view previous chapter officers, click here.

U.S. Phi Zeta Chapters

Institutio and Year Chartered

  • Alpha - Cornell University, 1925
  • Beta - University of Pennsylvania, 1929
  • Gamma - Iowa State University, 1931
  • Delta - The Ohio State University, 1934
  • Epsilon - Auburn University, 1948
  • Zeta - Michigan State University, 1950
  • Eta - Texas A&M University, 1950
  • Theta - Colorado State University, 1950
  • Iota - Washington State University, 1952
  • Kappa - University of Minnesota, 1952
  • Lambda - University of California, 1953
  • Mu - University of Illinois, 1953
  • Nu - Oklahoma State University, 1958
  • Xi - University of Georgia, 1959
  • Omicron - Purdue University, 1962
  • Pi - University of Missouri, 1965
  • Rho - Tuskegee University, 1967
  • Sigma - Kansas State University, 1969
  • Tau - Louisiana State University, 1977
  • Upsilon - University of Florida, 1979
  • Phi - University of Tennessee, 1979
  • Chi - Virginia-Maryland Regional CVM, 1984
  • Psi - North Carolina State University, 1984
  • Alpha Alpha - University of Wisconsin, 1987
  • Alpha Gamma - Oregon State University, 1987
  • Omega - Mississippi State University, 1988
  • Alpha Beta - Tufts University, 1991

Additional Links

Pre-Award Office

Phi Zeta

Summer Student Research

Life Sciences at Purdue

Purdue Institute of Inflammation, Immunology, and Infectious Disease

Purdue Institute for Integrative Neuroscience

Contact Information:

Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine
Office of Research

625 Harrison Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 496-3487

Learn more about

Read the Research Highlights from Purdue University

Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, 625 Harrison Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-7607

© 2017 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by PVM Web Communications

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact PVM Web Communications at