White Coat and Awards Ceremony Draws Capacity Crowd

The Purdue Memorial Union ballrooms were filled April 20 for the annual Purdue Veterinary Medicine Honors and Awards Banquet and White Coat Ceremony, which has become an extraordinarily popular event.  PVM students and their families joined faculty and staff for the annual night of awards and special recognition.

Dean Willie Reed began the White Coat Ceremony by explaining that it marks the passage of third-year veterinary students from the classroom to the clinics.  “Class of 2016, the donning of the white coat symbolizes your new role as junior veterinarians,” Dean Reed said.  “The white coat indicates your acceptance of the great responsibility toward your patients and clients, your commitment to show compassion and empathy, and to make a positive difference in the life of every animal and person with whom you come into contact.”  During the ceremony, each student stepped onto the stage to receive their white coat as their name was called.  The students also received a name badge from the Indiana Veterinary Medical Association (IVMA).

The program then continued with the presentation of 45 student awards.  Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Kathy Salisbury acknowledged each award sponsor and shared some background about each of the student recipients as the award winners came up to the stage. Awards were given to recognize the students’ achievements in several categories, including Excellence in Clinical Performance, Excellence in Patient Care and Client Communication, and Excellence in Academic Performance. Recognition of veterinary technology students included awards for leadership, academic achievement and technical proficiency. Click here to view a complete list of award recipients.

Professional photographs taken by Ed Lausch at the Honors and Awards Banquet and White Coat Ceremony events can be viewed and purchased online at www.lauschphotography.com. Click on the link in the upper right hand corner for “Purchase Event Photos” and use the following username and password to view the images:

Username: 2015whitecoat
Password: 20april2015

Veterinary Technology Program Director Tina Tran with third-year veterinary technician students Jennie Edmanson (left) and Patty Umbarger (right), who received the Eber H. Allen Award.

Dean Reed returned to the podium after the student awards to present nine awards for teaching, research and engagement.  Congratulations to the following award recipients:

  • Alumni Outstanding Teacher Award - faculty recognition by professional students:  Dr. John Christian, associate professor of veterinary clinical pathology and director of the Clinical Pathology Laboratory;
  • Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award - outstanding teacher recognized by professional students: Dr. Pete Bill (PU DVM ’80), assistant dean for academic affairs, teaching and learning and professor of veterinary pharmacology;
  • Weedon Faculty Recognition Award - faculty recognition by fourth year students:  Dr. Jim Weisman (PU DVM ’97), clinical assistant professor and director of Student Services;
  • Zoetis Animal Health Award for Veterinary Research Excellence: Dr. Mohamed Seleem, assistant professor of veterinary microbiology;
  • PVM Excellence in Teaching Award: Dr. Nolie Parnell, clinical associate professor of small animal internal medicine;
  • PVM Excellence in Research Award:  Dr. Laurent Couëtil, professor of large animal internal medicine; Large Animal Internal Medicine section head; director of Equine Research Programs; and director of the Equine Sports Medicine Center;
  • PVM Excellence in Scholarship of Engagement Award: Dr. Candace Croney, associate professor of animal behavior and well-being; and director of the Purdue Center for Animal Welfare Science;
  • PVM Award of Excellence in Service - faculty and staff veterinarians who excel in service:  Dr. Ann Weil, clinical professor of anesthesiology; chief of staff of the Small Animal Hospital; and anesthesiology section head;
  • Elanco Veterinary Technology Outstanding Teaching Award: Maggie Lump, RVT, instructional technologist.

The annual Honors and Awards Banquet is sponsored by Elanco Animal Health and Hill’s Pet Nutrition.

Dr. Ed Cummins (PU DVM ’66) with the recipient of the G. Edward Cummins Compassionate Care Award, veterinary student David Zimmer of the DVM Class of 2015.

Dean Willie Reed with the recipient of the PVM Excellence in Teaching Award, Dr. Nolie Parnell, clinical associate professor of small animal internal medicine.

Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, 625 Harrison Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-7607

© 2019 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by PVM Web Communications

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact PVM Web Communications at vetwebteam@purdue.edu.