PVM Awards Program Recognizes Staff Members’ Excellence

A long-standing Purdue Veterinary Medicine tradition of recognizing outstanding staff members continued this year with a new twist.  At the annual Outstanding Staff Awards Ceremony June 17 in Lynn Hall, Dean Willie Reed also gave out five newly established “Bravo Awards.”

“It is a great pleasure for me to recognize outstanding members of the Purdue Veterinary Medicine family,” Dean Reed said as he began the program.  The Outstanding Staff Award has been given since 1988 to recognize excellent performance by the College of Veterinary Medicine’s non-faculty, full-time employees.  The award was initiated by PVM Alumnus Carl Osborne (PU DVM ’64), and his wife, Lynn, who gave the initial support for the award. “It reflects their commitment to excellence and their warm support for our College and its outstanding staff,” Dean Reed said. Up to two awards may be given each year - one for nominees from the Veterinary Teaching Hospital and Veterinary Clinical Sciences Department and the other for nominees from the departments of Basic Medical Sciences, Veterinary Administration, and Comparative Pathobiology; and the Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory.

The 2015 awards were presented to instructional technologist Amanda Schoolcraft, RVT, in the Department of Veterinary Administration (VAD), and PVM Wellness Clinic technologist Cindy Voglewede, RVT, in the Veterinary Teaching Hospital (VTH).  “I thoroughly enjoyed reading the nomination dossiers and supporting materials of this year’s awardees,” Dean Reed said.  “The awardees are individuals who have outstanding attitudes and very high standards of performance.  They are always willing to help others with a positive and friendly attitude and do whatever it takes to get the job done.”

Amanda was commended for her many years of outstanding and dedicated service, including the countless hours when she has given of herself to provide encouragement and inspiration to her students, support to her colleagues, and compassionate care to animals. She also was praised for involvement in such additional activities as visiting elementary schools with her Great Dane “Gus” and assisting with several 4-H camps at the veterinary school, as well as Boiler Vet Camp.

Cindy was honored for 17 years of compassion and exceptional care for patients and pet owners alike in the Small Animal Community Practice and Dentistry services of the College of Veterinary Medicine. She was praised for her sincere and outgoing interactions, clinical teaching excellence and health care team focus for Veterinary Technology and DVM students of all backgrounds, and her commitment to helping expand students’ primary care knowledge and technical competencies. In supporting her nomination, a client commented, “PVM could not ask for a better ambassador and representative.”

Next, Dean Reed presented the PVM Outstanding Research Staff Award, which recognizes, honors, and highlights the talents of the College’s dedicated non-faculty research staff.  The recipient is John Cirillo, electronics and computer specialist in the Center for Paralysis Research, who was commended for his excellence in laboratory work, commitment to research, and contributions to discovery at the College, as well as his valued contributions to teaching students of all skill levels, collegiality, and work ethic.

Dean Willie Reed leads the audience in calling out “Bravo!” to “Bravo Award” recipient Janet Rivers (VTH).

Dean Reed then announced five recipients of a new award at Purdue University, called the Bravo Award, which recognizes substantial accomplishments achieved by employees that extend well beyond regular work responsibilities. After presenting the award to each recipient, Dean Reed led the audience in calling out “Bravo!”  The PVM Bravo Award recipients are:

  • Amanda Bettag, clinical pathology technologist in the Veterinary Teaching Hospital, who was recognized in the category of Exemplary Contributions to Operational Excellence for her dedication to helping the VTH Clinical Pathology Laboratory run smoothly;
  • Eric Biggs, application programmer in the VTH, who was recognized in the category of Moving the University Forward, Innovation & Creativity, and Operational Excellence, through his dedication to ensuring the VTH has a high quality and responsive electronic medical record system;
  • Seth Bossingham, senior web developer in VAD, who was recognized in the category of Operational Excellence, for his dedication in providing a quality image of the College through the PVM Website;
  • Lynn Carmony, account clerk in the Purchasing Center, who was recognized in the category of Operational Excellence for going above and beyond her job responsibilities to ensure that the Center continued to be fully functioning for customers in spite of staffing challenges;
  • and Janet Rivers, account clerk in the Purchasing Center, who was recognized in the category of Operational Excellence for her willingness to go above and beyond her job responsibilities to maintain excellent service during staffing challenges. “This is a special place that we have and we all need to work hard to maintain that.”

Dean Reed concluded the ceremony by thanking everyone at the College for all they do to make Purdue Veterinary Medicine a very special place. 

Dean Willie Reed with “Bravo Award” recipients (left-right): Janet Rivers (Purchasing Center), Lynn Carmony (Purchasing Center), Amanda Bettag (VTH), Eric Biggs (VTH), and Seth Bossingham (VAD).

Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, 625 Harrison Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-7607

© 2019 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by PVM Web Communications

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact PVM Web Communications at vetwebteam@purdue.edu.