Purdue and Other Organizations Awards

Purdue Veterinary Medicine faculty and staff members also are eligible for awards and honors conferred by Purdue University and other organizations. Awards, criteria and names of recipients, where available and applicable, are listed below.

Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award

This award is the highest undergraduate teaching honor.

Nominations are due in February.

Past awardees include Dr. Pete Bill (2007-2008).

The Book of Great Teachers

This recognition is for faculty members, chosen by students and peers, who have devoted their lives to excellence in teaching and scholarship. Eligible faculty have 15 years of continuous service to Purdue.

Nominations are requested every five years in March.

Eudoxia Girard Martin Memorial Staff Recognition Award

This award honors "staff who accomplish their duties with a special caring and helpfulness to students, faculty and staff."

Past recipients include Carolyn Arnold, Department of Comparative Pathobiology Secretary (2010).   

Purdue Black Graduate Association Engagement Award

This award honors "individuals who have made a significant contribution to Engagement, Diversity and Community outreach at Purdue University."

Past recipients include Dr. Kauline Cipriani (2010), director of PVM diversity initiatives, for her active role in supporting the ideals of the Black Graduate Association. 

Spirit of the Land-Grant Mission Award

This award recognizes faculty for excellence in integrating and promoting the University’s core mission of discovery, engagement, and learning.  The award is designed to highlight and celebrate those faculty members who have successfully developed an integrated, comprehensive program that benefits agriculture nationally or internationally.

Nominations are due in February.

Purdue Heroes

This award recognizes individuals who have acted with persistence, selflessness, and integrity to overcome adversity, achieve an ambitious goal, or positively influence those around them in their lifetime.

Nominations are due in February.

Violet Haas Award

This award recognizes individuals, programs, or departments at Purdue that have facilitated the advancement of women in hiring, promotion, education and salary, or have enhanced a positive professional climate for women at the University. 

Nominations are due in February.

Purdue University Awards for Excellence in Distance Learning

These awards recognize faculty and staff who demonstrate excellence in distance learning projects. 

Nominations are due in February.

Helping Students Learn Award

This award recognizes Purdue University faculty, staff, and graduate students who have developed innovative (new and involving creativity and change) techniques to help students learn. 

Nominations are due in February.

Purdue University Dreamer Award

This award is presented annually to an individual or organization within the Purdue University community whose contributions embody Martin Luther King, Jr.'s vision of service to others and further the University's commitment to diversity.

Nominations are due in December.

Iverson Bell Recognition Award

This award is conferred by the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges and honors individuals for outstanding engagement around issues of diversity and inclusion.

Past recipients include PVM Dean Willie Reed (2011).

Golden Egg Award

This award is given by the Indiana State Poultry Association to honor individuals who make a significant impact on Indiana's poultry industry.

Past recipients include Dr. Leon Thacker (2011)

Frederick L. Hovde Award of Excellence in Educational Service to the Rural People of Indiana 

This award honors Purdue staff with a record of outstanding achievement and service to rural communities.

Past recipients include Dr. Leon Thacker (2011)

National Carl J. Norden-Pfizer Distinguished Teaching Award

This award recognizes outstanding instructors who, through their ability, dedication, character, and leadership, contribute significantly to the advancement of the profession of veterinary medicine. The national award is the most prestigious teaching award in veterinary medicine in the United States.

Past recipients include Dr. Larry Adams (2009), Dr. Kathy Salisbury (2007), and Dr. Mohamed Seleem (2014).

Western Veterinary Conference Continuing Educator of the Year

Past award recipient include: Dr. Mark Hilton for Food Animal Medicine (2009) and Julie Shaw, RVT, for Veterinary Technicians (2009).

Pioneers in Virology Award

Past recipients of this award from the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians include:  Dr. Charles Kanitz (2009).

Sagamore of the Wabash Award

Past recipients of this award, conferred by the Governor of Indiana, include:  Dr. Leon Thacker (2009) for his "loyalty and friendship, his wisdom and council, and his inspiration in leadership."

Faculty Award of Merit from Purdue University Chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta Honor Society

Past recipients of this award include: Dr. David Van Sickle (2009).

Trustee Teaching Award from Indiana University

Past recipients of this award include: Dr. Regina Kreisle (2014, 2012, 2010) and Dr. Jim Walker (2011, 2009).

Indiana University School of Medicine Faculty Teaching Award

Past recipients of this award include: Dr. Regina Kreisle (2010) and Dr. Julianne Stout (2017). 

Indiana University School of Medicine Outstanding Basic Science Faculty Teaching Award

Past recipients of this award include: Dr. Samar Khirallah (2017), Dr. Regina Kreisle (2015, 2012, 2010) and Dr. Jim Walker (2013, 2011).