Jump to featured news Jump to other news and events
Purdue signature

PVM Directory | Intranet

The Society of Phi Zeta

Phi Zeta Omicron Chapter

The Honor Society of Veterinary Medicine - OMICRON Chapter

Our Chapter, established in 1962, participates in the overall mission of the Phi Zeta Society to recognize and promote high level scholarship and research. Every year our chapter organizes a research day during which clinical and basic research findings are presented by our faculty, resident, postdoctoral, and student community. During that day invited outstanding lectures are also presented on topics relevant to animal and human health. During the day a number of prizes are bestowed for meritorious research accomplishments.

Join us for the annual Phi Zeta Research Day

The annual Phi Zeta Research Day is to be held at Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine on April 14, 2014.

Featured speakers for Phi Zeta Research Day include: 

  • Dr. Timothy Geary, Professor & Director of the Institute of Parasitology at McGill University
  • Dr. Scott Weese, Professor, Department of Pathobiology and Chief of Infection Control at the Ontario Veterinary College Teaching Hospital
  • Dr. Joanne B. Messick, Associate Professor, Department of Pathobiology, Purdue Veterinary Medicine
  • Dr. Karen M. Young, Professor of Clinical Pathology, Department of Pathobiological Sciences, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Download the complete program for the 2014 Phi Zeta Research Day

See below for more detailed information.


Chapter Information

Annual Phi Zeta Research Day

Phi Zeta day is April 14, 2014 at the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine. To view the schedule for the day, click here.  To view a flyer on the keynote speakers (Dr. Timothy Geary and Dr. Scott Weese), click here.  To view a flyer on the Lecture on Scientific Writing, click here.

Omicron Chapter Officers

Joanne Messick, President
Comparative Pathobiology

Susan Mendrysa, Vice President
Basic Medical Sciences

Roman Pogranichniy, Secretary
Comparative Pathbiology

Jean Stiles, Treasurer
Veterinary Clinical Sciences

Amy Fauber-Otlewski, Past President
Veterinary Clinical Sciences

Ramesh VemulapalliFaculty Representative
Comparative Pathobiology

Laurie JaegerFaculty Representative
Basic Medical Sciences 

Grad Student Representative: TBA

DVM Student Representative: TBA

To view previous chapter officers, click here.

U.S. Phi Zeta Chapters

Institution, Year Chartered
Alpha Cornell University, 1925
Beta University of Pennsylvania, 1929
Gamma Iowa State University, 1931
Delta The Ohio State University, 1934
Epsilon Auburn University, 1948
Zeta Michigan State University, 1950
Eta Texas A&M University, 1950
Theta Colorado State University, 1950
Iota Washington State University, 1952
Kappa University of Minnesota, 1952
Lambda University of California, 1953
Mu University of Illinois, 1953
Nu Oklahoma State University, 1958
Xi University of Georgia, 1959
Omicron Purdue University, 1962
Pi University of Missouri, 1965
Rho Tuskegee University, 1967
Sigma Kansas State University, 1969
Tau Louisiana State University, 1977
Upsilon University of Florida, 1979
Phi University of Tennessee, 1979
Chi Virginia-Maryland Regional CVM, 1984
Psi North Carolina State University, 1984
Alpha Alpha University of Wisconsin, 1987
Alpha Gamma Oregon State University, 1987
Omega Mississippi State University, 1988
Alpha Beta Tufts University, 1991