Jump to featured news Jump to other news and events
Purdue signature

PVM Alumni & Teachers Honored at Awards Celebration

The Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine presented its most prestigious awards for alumni and teachers at the Awards Celebration held Thursday (9/22) of the PVM Fall Conference at the Purdue Memorial Union. The awards recognize excellence in service, teaching, discovery, and clinical practice. For the first time, the event included veterinary technology program honorees. "One of our true distinctives as a College of Veterinary Medicine is training all members of the veterinary team," explained Dean Willie Reed, adding, "it's time to reflect that team approach to veterinary medicine in our College's premier awards program." The awards and recipients are listed below along with photos and videos of the recipients' acceptance speeches.

PVM Distinguished Alumni Awards:

The presentation of the PVM Distinguished Alumni Awards dates back to 1978, when the first Distinguished Alumnus Award was given posthumously to Dr. David Mullis, a member of the Class of 1967 - the class which established the award as a memorial. More than 50 alumni have been recognized as distinguished graduates since then. This year, the Distinguished Veterinary Technologist Alumna Award was established to honor Purdue veterinary technology alumni who have distinguished themselves through outstanding performance.

  • Kristin Husband, RVT (AS-VT '02), Program RVT at the International Business College's Vet Tech Institute in Fort Wayne, Ind., received the inaugural PVM Distinguished Veterinary Technologist Alumna Award.
  • Dr. Roy Coolman (PU DVM '65), a retired private practitioner from Fort Wayne, Ind., who has been actively involved in veterinary-related mission work in Ethiopia, received the Distinguished Alumnus Award.
  • Dr. Fred Hoerr (PU DVM '76), director of the Alabama Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratories and Auburn University professor of avian pathology, received the Distinguished Alumnus Award.

PVM Teaching Awards:

The Veterinary Technology Outstanding Teaching Award, sponsored by Elanco Companion Animal Health, was presented to Pat Navarre, RVT, who serves as senior operating room technologist and large animal technician supervisor. The award is for an instructor who teaches in the clinical portion of the Associate of Science degree program. The selection is made on the basis of a vote by the veterinary technology students who are to consider the instructor's:

  • Superior ability to clearly communicate course content and stimulate students' motivation to acquire the knowledge and skills required for their educational program;
  • willingness to facilitate student learning outside of the formal classroom, laboratory, or clinic setting;
  • willingness to mentor students; and,
  • influence as a positive role model.

The Alumni Faculty Award for Excellence was presented to Dr. Larry Horstman, professor of theriogenology. Nominations are submitted by faculty to a committee of faculty and alumni who make the selection on the basis of the nominee's performance and contributions in research, scholarly or creative endeavors; instruction and related activities; and/or public and professional services and relations.

The Raymond E. Plue Outstanding Teacher Award was presented to Dr. Gary Lantz, professor and chief of small animal surgery, and assistant head of the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences. The award was conceived by Dr. Raymond E. Plue, a member of the DVM Class of 1968. Dr. Plue funded the award through an endowment he established to recognize outstanding teachers who make a superior effort to influence and inspire students, in the same way that Dr. Billy Hooper inspired him when he was a student.

Award Videos (produced by Video and Multimedia Production Services at Purdue)

Acceptance Videos

To purchase photos from this event, visit http://www.lauschphotography.com/ using awardscelebration as the username and purdueveterinary as the password.